fbpx

OUR CHILD SPONSORSHIP PROGRAMME IN NEPAL

CORONAVIRUS OUTBREAK & OUR RESPONSE

By raising child protection awareness through public service announcements, installing handwashing stations in public places and providing protection materials, including gloves and masks, we’re actively helping our sponsorship communities.

Sponsorship funds have also helped us procure and distribute personal protective equipment and other medical materials for hospitals, health posts and isolation wards.

Your opinion matters. Kindly take 1 minute to tell us what you think about our child sponsorship program so that we can do better in the future!

ABOUT OUR CHILD SPONSORSHIP PROGRAMME

DID YOU KNOW?

Your sponsorship helped us partner with local leaders to empower girls. In Kapilvastu, this resulted in 25 out of 82 communities declaring themselves child marriage-free zones and a drop in early marriage rates from 46% in 2012 to 10% in 2019. 

We started sponsorship programmes in 1982.   

In 2019, we served children and families in Saptari, Sarlahi, Mahottari, Pyuthan & Kapilvastu.   

In 2019, you helped us reach 284,815 children and adults.   

A LETTER FOR YOU…

This child letter was written by our child representative from Nepal. 

Dear friend,

Namaste! (Warm greetings) My name is Showrup. I am seven years old. I am now in grade two after completing grade one. My favorite subject is English. I am staying at home due to the (corona) virus. I am safe from the coronavirus along with my father, mother and elder brother. Save the Children has taught me to wash hands with soap and water following all the six steps. Since my school is closed at the moment, I am practicing to write alphabets in English. My mother and father are also helping me learn at home by listening to educational programs on the radio. My brother and I spend playing ludo (board game). I want to meet my friends and teachers once my school reopens. Thank you for your support. Do stay safe and take care! Thank you! 

Wishing you happiness, always. Thank you! 

HOW YOUR MONEY IS HELPING CHILDREN IN NEPAL

Healthy Girls and Boys 

Last year, your support ensured that 84% of schoolchildren in Saptari received deworming medications. That’s 27,139 girls and boys who benefitted from in-school health interventions, thanks to sponsors like you.

We’re also working together to ensure kids’ access to clean water. That’s why we built nine handwashing and seven drinking water stations in seven schools. We also piloted a brand new bio-sand filter in two schools to generate safe drinking water.  

Early Learners 

Three cheers for our trained early learning teams in Pyunthan and Kapilvastu! Last year, they helped 93% of children achieve early literacy and math milestones, up from 57% in 2011.

There’s reason to celebrate in Saptari too… 95% of first graders with early learning experience graduated to second grade. This shows that early learning interventions – both in preschools and at home – help pave the way for easy school transitions for girls and boys.  

Successful Students 

Thanks to support from sponsors like you, we teamed up with local leaders to sponsor campaigns in 145 schools and engage out-of-school children. In 2019, we helped 1,027 out-of-school kids from at-risk families enroll and stay in school.

Our signature reading strategy, Literacy Boost, and ongoing assessments are helping young learners strengthen their reading skills. How do we know? Students meeting literacy benchmarks increased to 68% in 2019 from 66% in 2018 (and 25% in 2011).  

Healthy Moms and Babies 

With your support, we helped reactivate 53 moms’ groups in deprived communities. The 953 participating moms now conduct regular meetings to spread the word about how to stay healthy by visiting local health clinics.

You’re helping us reduce the mortality rate of moms and babies in other ways too. Together, we provided eight health clinics and five birthing centers with essential equipment. So far, 544 women sought prenatal services and 352 moms benefitted from delivery and post-natal check-ups.  

Empowered Teens 

Your generosity made it possible for us to train 67 adolescent girls and 26 female health volunteers as ‘My First Baby’ facilitators. Last year, they led educational sessions for 1,034 teen girls to reduce the cultural norms and taboos that prevent access to family planning and reproductive health services.

With your support, we’re empowering teens in other ways too. We certified six health centers that meet our adolescent-friendly benchmark. So far, 17 out of 62 clinics have been certified, increasing the number of teen visits to 27,765. 

Learn how your and other sponsors’ support has made a difference by reading:

Sponsor a Second Child

 

Will you sponsor a second child to help children like Snowrup?

Your donation of just HK$9 per day can help to provide vulnerable children with education, healthcare protection and community support.

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

Contacts

Donation and General Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8686

Child Sponsorship Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8786

 

8/F Pacific Plaza, 410-418 Des Voeux Road West, Sai Wan, Hong Kong

Monday to Friday: 9:30a.m. to 6:00p.m.

© 2020 Save the Children Hong Kong | IR File No: 91/8943

助養兒童計劃 尼泊爾

救助兒童會應對新型冠狀病毒的工作

我們透過社區宣傳,致力提高兒童保護意識,並於公共場所裝設洗手設施,以及提供手套和口罩等個人防疫物資,以支援助養兒童計劃受助的社區。助養兒童計劃的款項讓我們能夠採購個人防疫物資和其他醫療用品,分發給醫院、醫療站和隔離病房。

 

您的意見非常重要。請花1分鐘填寫您對助養兒童計劃的想法,讓我們將來做得更好!

關於我們的助養兒童計劃

您知道嗎?

您的支持幫助我們與當地領袖合作,增加女孩的自主權。在Kapilvastu 82個社區中,已有25個宣布為無童婚的社區,而早婚率亦從2012年的46%下降至2019年的10%

 

我們於1982在尼泊爾開展助養兒童計劃。 

2019年,我們為以下地區的兒童和家庭提供服務: Saptari, Sarlahi, Mahottari, Pyuthan 及 Kapilvastu

2019年,您的支持使我們的工作惠及284,815兒童及成人。

 

一封給您的信件⋯⋯

這是我們尼泊爾助養兒童的代表所寫的信件。

親愛的朋友,

Namaste

我叫Showrup今年七歲。讀完一年級,我現在讀二年級。我最喜歡的科目是英文。由於新型冠狀病毒疫情,我們需要待在家裡。我與父母親和哥哥都安全。救助兒童會教會了我用肥皂和水洗手,我會照著六個步驟洗手。由於我的學校目前關閉了,我正在練習寫英文字母。我的父母也透過收聽電台的教育節目幫助我在家中學習。我的兄弟和我都在玩ludo(桌上遊戲)。我的學校重新開放後,我想與我的朋友和老師見面。謝謝您的支持。希望您身體健康!

謝謝!

 

您的支持如何改變尼泊爾兒童

健康媽媽及寶寶

在您的支持下,我們協助重啟53個在貧困社區的母親小組。953名參與的媽媽現在會定期開會,並透過前往當地的保健診所,宣傳健康訊息。

您的支持讓我們透過不同方式降低了母親和初生嬰兒的死亡率。我們一共為八家保健診所和五個分娩中心提供必要的設備。到目前為止,我們已為544名婦女提供產前服務,以及為352名母親進行分娩和提供產後檢查。

 

健康兒童

全賴您的支持,我們在Saptari 84%的學童提供杜蟲藥,即共有27,139名女孩和男孩在學校的健康介入措施中受益。

您的支持讓我們確保孩子們獲得乾淨的食水。我們在七所學校建立了九個洗手設施和七個飲水設施。我們還在兩所學校試行了一種全新的活性砂濾池,以提供已過濾的安全飲用水。

 

獲學前教育的兒童

讓我們一起為PyunthanKapilvastu訓練有素的學前教育教師團隊鼓掌!他們於去年幫助了93%兒童達到早期讀寫能力及數學的標準,高於2011年的57%

Saptari有一件值得高興的事情…… 95%曾接受學前教育的一年級學童順利升上二年級。換句話說,無論是在學前教育中心還是在家中,學前教育介入措施可以為孩子們將來入學打好基礎。

 

卓越學生

在您的支持下,我們與當地領袖合作,在145所學校中開展運動,並有失學兒童參與。 2019年,我們幫助了1,027名來自高風險家庭的失學兒童入學,並且繼續提供學習機會。

我們的重要閱讀策略「提升讀寫能力」和持續性評估,協助年輕學童增強閱讀能力。我們怎麼知道?達到讀寫基準的學生從2018年的66%增加到2019年的68%2011年為25%)。

 

獲賦權的青少年

您的慷慨捐助使我們可以為67名少女和26名女性保健義工,提供培訓,成為「我的第一個孩子」的協作者。他們去年為1,034名少女舉辦了教育講座,減少她們因性與生殖健康議題的文化規範和禁忌而無法獲得家庭計劃和生殖健康服務。

在您的支持下,我們還以其他方式使青少年獲享權利。我們為六個符合青少年友好標準的醫療中心提供認證。目前的62家診所中,已有17家獲得認證,使青少年到訪次數增加至27,765人。

 

了解您和其他捐贈者如何帶來重大的改變,請即瀏覽:

助養多一個兒童

你願意助養多一個像Showrup的兒童嗎?

每日只需要港幣9元,你便可以為有需要的兒童提供教育、醫療保障和他們居住的社區提供支援。

聯絡香港救助兒童會

我們的團體非常樂意為你提供協助

聯絡詳情

捐款及一般查詢: (852) 3160-8686

助養兒童計劃查詢: (852) 3160-8786

 

西環德輔道西410-418號太平洋廣場8

星期一至五:早上9:30至下午6:00

© 2019 香港救助兒童會 | 慈善團體參考編號:91/8943