PROGRAMME LETTER EXCHANGE

The Letter Exchange Program, launched in 2018, is a platform for children aged 12-18 from different places of the world to share their life experiences and thinking and to learn issues affecting children in other countries. Participants will use the most conventional way – handwritten letters – to communicate and exchange ideas. The voices of children could provide us a better understanding on their views on issues impacting them.

Participants: Secondary School Students Cindy and Nilakshini

 

Cindy Tse, a Form 5 student from Hong Kong and Nilakshini from Sri Lanka have become pen pals, sharing with each other their joys and troubles in life. Cindy mentioned in her letters about her academic pressure and problems in her daily life, as well as her hope for the future. She wrote, “People say that students have a low ability to resist stress, but no one cares that part of the stress is in fact academic stress. People always think it is our fault. Sadly, the whole society just thinks the same way.” Cindy hopes that Hong Kong students can have an open and enjoyable learning environment and play space to reduce stress.

Nilakshini from Sri Lanka talked about her family life. Due to family problems, she is not able to enjoy a stable living space. However, she studies very hard and her dream is to go abroad to study law in the future. She hopes to improve and contribute to her country with professional knowledge.

After joining the Letter Exchange Programme, Cindy sees that creativity can bring about change for child rights and lead the trend in society. Children from all around the world can contribute to promoting child rights. She is working with her friends to conduct a social experiment to find out how to reduce bullying in schools. Besides using letters for exchange, Cindy hopes to better understand child rights issues in the future through communicating with youth in other countries via other platforms.

Facilitator: Molly, Student of University of Hong Kong

 

During the summer of 2018, I worked as an intern with Save the Children in Sri Lanka in order to broaden my horizons and fulfil my graduation requirements of the University of Hong Kong. Our team was responsible for visiting tea estates in Nuwara Eliya and analyzing the impacts of Save the Children’s projects on livelihoods of the community through interviews and workshops. After almost two months, I would say every moment of the trip – woven with tears and laughter – has given me the best summer of university life.

Looking back, the internship was never an easy task but we managed to rise to different challenges. Among those language differences were always the biggest challenge, especially during the process of translating children’s letters. 

As a comparative literature student, I have learnt the impossibility of transparent translation because of cultural and language differences. To translate ideas more accurately, I repeatedly checked dictionaries, compared multiple translations and beware of contextual differences between two regions during translation. Although language differences sometimes troubled us, it facilitated cross-cultural friendships. In the final letter writing workshop, we gave the children Cantonese names and they gave us Sri Lankan names. The workshop ran overtime because those children eagerly wanted us to give their family and friends a Cantonese name with positive meanings.

Lastly, with the help from local people including our supervisor Methsiri, coordinators and children, our team managed to go through all challenges. I wish I could once again express my deep gratitude to them. In accordance with Save the Children’s child safeguarding policy, I did not keep any contact information with the children. However, if I will see them someday, I hope we can deepen our friendships – drinking Ceylon tea, soaking up the beautiful evening sunset in tea estates and enjoying our time with each other.

Become a Monthly Donor

Create a Sustainable Future for Children

Monthly giving is critical to providing a predictable income stream that allows Save the Children to plan and implement projects more efficiently.

When disaster strikes or a crisis breaks out, our dedicated emergency responders are among the first to arrive – and the last to leave.

With your support, we can be ready to send life-saving food, shelter and medicines straight to where they are most urgently needed.

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

Contacts

Donation and General Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8686

Child Sponsorship Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8786

 

8/F Pacific Plaza, 410-418 Des Voeux Road West, Sai Wan, Hong Kong

Monday to Friday: 9:30a.m. to 6:00p.m.

© 2019 Save the Children Hong Kong | IR File No: 91/8943

2018年推出的交換書信計劃,提供平台,讓12-18歲來自不同地方的兒童,交流生活點滴、 所思所想,並且了解在其他國家影響兒童的議題。參加者透過最傳統的方式-寫信,進行溝通及交流。兒童的聲音亦能讓我們更了解他們對影響兒童的議題的看法。

參加者:中學生謝文渙及Nilakshini

來自香港的中五學生謝文渙與斯里蘭卡的青年 Nilakshini 成為筆友,分享自己的快樂和煩惱。謝文渙在書信中提到自己讀書 的壓力,生活上面對的困境,以及對將來的期盼,人們說學生抗壓能力低,但部分壓力來源是讀書,卻沒人想過要解決,只覺得是我們的錯。無奈社會就是這樣。」 謝文渙期望香港學生擁有一個開放及愉快 的學習環境和遊玩空間,減輕壓力來源。
居於斯里蘭卡的 Nilakshini 則多談自己的 家庭。雖然家庭問題令她仍未有一個安穩的生活空間,但是她集中心思讀書,希望日後能出國修讀法律,回國以專業知識改善和貢獻國家。
參加「交換書信計劃」後,謝文渙認為創 意能改變兒童權益,藉此帶動風氣,世界 各地的兒童也可以一起為兒童權益出力。 她現正與其他朋友進行社會實驗和觀察, 希望改善學童在校被欺凌的問題。她希望 除了交換書信以外,往後能爭取更多與其 他國家青年交流的機會,更深入了解兒童 權利的議題。

協作者:香港大學學生朱芷茵

2018年暑假,為了擴闊個人視野,並達成香港大學的畢業要求,我參與了由救助兒童 會舉辦的實習計劃,於斯里蘭卡實習。我們的團隊專責探訪位於Nuwara Eliya的茶園,並透過訪談與工作坊,分析救助兒童會的項目為當地的社區生計帶來甚麼裨益。經 過了約兩個月,我覺得這趟旅程彷彿每時每刻都由淚光與笑聲交織而成,亦讓我度過了 一個最美好的大學暑假。
驀然回首,實習計劃從來不輕鬆,但是我們懂得應付不同挑戰;當中,彼此的語言差別是最大的障礙。翻譯兒童的書信期間,讓修讀比較文學的學生如我,理解到因礙於文化及語言差別,要原原全全的翻譯實 在是不可能。為了更準確地翻譯意念,翻譯期間我重覆翻查字典,比較形形色色的譯法,並注意存在於兩地的語境差異。

雖然語言差異有時會為我們帶來困擾,但 同時亦促進了我們之間跨文化的友誼。在最後一次工作坊,我們為兒童取了中文名字,他們亦給了我們斯里蘭卡名字。當時 孩子們都非常渴望我們為他們的家人和朋 友取一個正面的中文名字,結果導致工作坊唯一一次超時結束。
最後,我們的團隊得以跨越重重難關,全 賴當地人,包括:我們的導師 Methsiri、統籌人員和兒童等協助。我冀望能夠再次向他們表達深深的謝意。因受限於兒童保護政策,我沒留下任何聯絡資料予當地兒童。然而,如日後有緣再會,我希望能夠與他們建立更親密的友誼,一起去呷錫蘭茶,沐浴於茶園中美不勝收的夕陽,和享受彼此相處的時光。

支持每月捐款

讓救助兒童可以持之以恆

全因每位兒童保護使者的每月捐款,讓我們可以有穩定的收入以制定更長遠和有效的救助兒童項目。

當天災到來時,我們便能第一時間前往災區,即時幫助有需要的兒童,而災後我們也可以持續為兒童提供支援。

感謝各個兒童保護使者的支持,救助兒童的工作才可以持之以恆。

聯絡香港救助兒童會

我們的團體非常樂意為你提供協助

聯絡詳情

捐款及一般查詢: (852) 3160-8686

助養兒童計劃查詢: (852) 3160-8786

 

西環德輔道西410-418號太平洋廣場8

星期一至五:早上9:30至下午6:00

© 2019 香港救助兒童會 | 慈善團體參考編號:91/8943