2020/02/02

SAVE THE CHILDREN IS AMONG THE FIRST TO RESPOND TO THE HUMANITARIAN CRISIS

How is Save the Children responding globally?

Around the world, Save the Children has launched a Global Coronavirus Response to help in the following the following ways:

We are hosting a series of pandemic preparedness workshops for global and local NGOs, in multiple locations across Asia, the Middle East and Africa.

Additionally, in support of the global humanitarian community, Save the Children is also leading a global consortium aimed at strengthening capacity for responses to major infectious disease outbreaks or pandemics, which is called READY. READY is engaged in building potential response scenarios to the emerging coronavirus, and other major epidemics/pandemic-prone pathogens.

We are preparing response plans for all 120 countries where we work, with special attention to scenarios of high transmission rates in low-resource countries.

Country examples

In China, we have delivered surgical masks to help and protect healthcare workers in Wuhan, and are working closely with our colleagues on the ground to provide additional support.

With a special partnership with Kellogg-HK University Science and Technology (HKUST) Executive MBA alumni network, we also donated hygiene kits to vulnerable families through a community centre and a school in Wuhan.

In Bangladesh, we are working in the Rohingya refugee camps to share information on the risks of the virus and to support this vulnerable group to protect themselves. We are repairing toilets and improving sanitation in the camps, and preparing our health facilities to treat patients.

In Italy, our teams are distributing tablets, books and educational games to children from low-income families to support their learning at home. We are also working with families to support their children’s mental health and wellbeing while confined to their homes.

In Jordan, we are adapting existing programming to ensure that children, including Syrian refugees in camps, are able to continue their education and access emotional and wellbeing support. Our team is also coordinating with partners to support the Ministry of Education by increasing and diversifying learning materials.

In Mexico, our teams are handing out hygiene kits and materials for families in migrant camps. These kits are vital for helping vulnerable families, providing them with soap, hand sanitisers and essential information on how to stay healthy and protect themselves from Coronavirus.

In South Korea, our teams are providing emergency supplies to protect children and their families from infection. We are working with community networks to operate out of 20 sites, using children centres and local government offices, to reach as many children as possible.

In Spain, we are offering therapy to children and families to support their emotional and mental wellbeing, and we are working with parents and guardians to strengthen their positive parenting skills so they can care for their children during the crisis. We are also supporting struggling parents with cash donations to buy food for their families.

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

Contacts

Donation and General Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8686

Child Sponsorship Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8786

 

8/F Pacific Plaza, 410-418 Des Voeux Road West, Sai Wan, Hong Kong

Monday to Friday: 9:30a.m. to 6:00p.m.

© 2019 Save the Children Hong Kong | IR File No: 91/8943

2021/02/11

救助兒童會針對新冠病毒之全球應對工作

我們在全球的應對工作

疫情繼續蔓延,救助兒童會在全球多個國家及地區進行救援,避免兒童飢餓及營養不良,並幫助兒童繼續學習, 確保安全及重返校園。救助兒童會迅速進行全球緊急救援工作,支援了逾2,950萬人,其中包括1,180萬名兒童。

瀏覽「我們針對新型冠狀病毒疫情的應對工作 – 2020年工作成效報告」了解更多 (只提供英文版本)

 

我們在各國的應對工作

中國,我們已經為武漢醫護人員提供醫療口罩,保障他們的健康,並與當地的同事緊密合作,以提供更多支持。

夥同凱洛格-科大EMBA校友網絡,我們亦捐贈衛生物資予一間受疫情影響的社區中心及學校,以轉贈給有需要的家庭。

孟加拉,我們在羅興亞難民營分享預防新型冠狀病毒的資訊,以便他們能夠保護自己。我們在難民營內修理廁所、改善衛生條件,並預備治療患者的醫療設施。

意大利,我們正在向低收入家庭的孩子分發平板電腦、書籍和教育性遊戲,以支持他們在家中學習。我們還與家庭合作,關注兒童在家中抗疫時的心理健康及福祉。

約旦,我們正在調整原有的項目,以確保兒童(包括難民營中的敘利亞難民)能夠繼續接受教育,並獲得情感和福祉的支援。我們正與合作夥伴協調,通過增加及使教材多樣化,以支持教育部。

墨西哥,我們為在移民聚居營地居住的家庭分發衛生用品。這些物資對弱勢家庭尤為重要,提供的肥皂、洗手液及健康資訊,有助他們保護自己,預防受新型冠狀病毒感染。

南韓,我們正在提供緊急物資,以保護兒童及其家庭免受感染。我們正在與社區網絡合作,利用兒童中心和地方政府辦公室,設立20個駐點,盡可能支援更多兒童。

西班牙,我們為兒童和家庭提供支援情緒和心理健康的治療。此外,我們正在協助父母和監護人,增強正面管教的技巧,以便在疫情期間,他們能夠照顧自己的孩子。我們還通過現金捐款,支持陷入困境的父母,以助他們為家人購買食物。

聯絡香港救助兒童會

我們的團體非常樂意為你提供協助

聯絡詳情

捐款及一般查詢: (852) 3160-8686

助養兒童計劃查詢: (852) 3160-8786

 

西環德輔道西410-418號太平洋廣場8

星期一至五:早上9:30至下午6:00

© 2019 香港救助兒童會 | 慈善團體參考編號:91/8943