HEART TO HEART PARENT-CHILD PROGRAMME

Heart to Heart Parent-Child Programme

The home should be a nurturing and non-violent environment for children, but corporal punishment against children at home remains prevalent in Hong Kong. In 2018, Hong Kong’s Social Welfare Department reported 1,064 new cases of child abuse, which is the first time this figure has exceeded 1,000 cases since 2010, the highest in the last 14 years. Sadly, in 64.5% of these incidents, a parent has been identified as the perpetrator[1]. Stories of severe child abuse have drawn widespread attention across the city. 

Launched in 2018, our child protection educational programme, Heart to Heart Parent-Child Programme, is designed to promote positive parenting while enhancing children’s communication and problem-solving skills. Our ultimate goal is to improve parent-child relationships, allowing children to grow up in a non-violent environment and supporting their optimal development. 

Save the Children Hong Kong works closely with various organisations including kindergartens, primary and secondary schools, and NGOs. We continue to identify new partners to expand our programme.

[1] https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/society/article/2187505/number-child-abuse-cases-hong-kong-hits-14-year-high

Objectives:

Main components

Happy Childhood, Healthy Child

 

The activity aims to enable children aged 6-17 to grow healthily with a violence-free and safe environment. Through various engaging and interactive activities, children would gain knowledge on:

 

  • potential risks in the community
  • child rights and different forms of violence
  • what is good touch and bad touch
  • how to protect yourself
  • how to express emotions and solve problems with non-violent communication

Positive Parenting, Loving Family

 

The positive parenting support group activity aims to encourage communication and improve the parent-child relationship, enabling children to grow up healthily with love and respect. The parents and caregivers would gain knowledge on:

 

  • develop mental stages of a child
  • positive parenting and self-care skills
  • how to provide care for children with emotional warmth and structure
  • the needs, views and feelings of children
  • how to solve problems with non-violent communication

Communication & Problem Solving with Your Children

– video by Save the Children Hong Kong x POPA

Are you struggling with handling your kids? Why does they behave badly even though they surely know it is wrong? Check out the video to learn more! The knowledge and skills in the video are based on the contents of our child protection educational programme “Heart to Heart Parent-Child Programme”. The video also debunks the common thoughts that parents usually have and briefly introduces the usage of “giraffe card” for both kids and adults in order to improve the parent-child communication and relationship. This video is a collaboration between Save the Children Hong Kong and POPA.

 

Positive Parenting Booklet

Positive Parenting Educational Resources

The booklet provides positive parenting tips to parents on how to better understand the needs and feeling of their children while also taking care of themselves, allowing children to grow up in a safe and non-violent environment.

Download the booklet (Chinese only)

Children’s Sharing

Primary Two student Jayden joined our Heart to Heart Parent-Child Programme in 2019 that took place at Principal Chan Free Tutorial World in Tai Kok Tsui. He participated in our weekly class of 10-session Happy Childhood, Healthy Child which teaches children how to express themselves, and enhances their awareness of various potential risks they may face in their communities, in order to protect them from harm.

During one of the classes, Jayden was asked to think of a dangerous place in their neighbourhood. “Prince Edward Road West,” said Jayden. “That’s because the road is so wide and there’re so many people passing by. I may easily get lost, get hit by vehicles, or even fall over if I get pushed by passers-by. I may get hurt.”

Jayden was then asked to work together with other children to create a community map on which they marked different places where potential risks might arise. “As children, we should always be cautious in places like parks, public toilets and MTR stations as there are so many strangers out there,” he said. The instructor then explained how they can seek help if necessary.

Jayden’s mother always wanted her son to learn how to protect himself, even at an early age. “We have no way of protecting our children all the time,” she said. “As they grow, they have to learn how to respond to potential risks that may come up at any time in life. That will make us, as parents, feel so much more at ease.”

Parents’ Sharing

What is the best way to resolve a quarrel between children? To Ada*, a mother of two, her efforts to communicate with her children with an open heart has proven effective.

Ada describes herself as an emotional and hot-tempered mother who always used to react in a volatile manner when she and her daughters came into conflict. After attending our Positive Parenting, Loving Family classes, her parenting and self-care skills have been strengthened, and she has learned how to solve problems with non-violent communication.

In a recent quarrel between her daughters, the first thing that Ada tried to do was to calm herself down. She took a deep breath and then had an open and patient discussion with her daughters. Ada did not lose her temper. It was the first time that she was able to control her emotions during such situations. She felt greatly motivated to continue to improve her relationship with her daughters.

* Pseudonym

Facilitator’s Sharing

During his internship at Save the Children Hong Kong, Eric was involved in the preparation of the Heart to Heart Programme and conducted a series of workshops to children. Along the course of preparation, Eric learned from researching on the global Save the Children evidence-based approach and in supporting the curriculum design for workshops. The preparation work was consolidated into a workbook – a sound tool for children to make reference to and encourage active participation.

“It was tricky at first to grab children’s attention and convey messages clearly, but we adhered to the children-centered principle that allowed our participants to freely express their feelings and thoughts,” Eric shared his experiences of leading sessions. He was delighted to see the significant changes in children. They developed higher self-esteem and were more willing to share their opinions.

Become a Monthly Donor

Create a Sustainable Future for Children

Monthly giving is critical to providing a predictable income stream that allows Save the Children to plan and implement projects more efficiently.

When disaster strikes or a crisis breaks out, our dedicated emergency responders are among the first to arrive – and the last to leave.

With your support, we can be ready to send life-saving food, shelter and medicines straight to where they are most urgently needed.

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

Contacts

Donation and General Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8686

Child Sponsorship Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8786

 

8/F Pacific Plaza, 410-418 Des Voeux Road West, Sai Wan, Hong Kong

Monday to Friday: 9:30a.m. to 6:00p.m.

© 2020 Save the Children Hong Kong | IR File No: 91/8943

「從心所育」計劃

一個關愛與非暴力的家庭環境,對於兒童至為重要,然而,香港兒童在家中受到體罰的情況依然普遍。2018年,社會福利署共接獲1,064宗新增虐兒個案,不但是2010年以來,首次超逾1,000宗個案,亦是14年來的新高。在這些個案中,64.5%的施虐者為父母[1]。一些嚴重虐兒的個案引起社會的廣泛關注。

我們在2018年推出的兒童保護教育項目 ——「從心所育」計劃,旨在推廣正面管教及提升兒童溝通和解決問題的技巧。項目的最終目標是要改善親子關係,讓兒童在非暴力的環境下成長,發揮潛能。

救助兒童會先後與不同組織合作,包括幼稚園、中小學,以及非政府組織等。我們將會繼續物色合適的合作夥伴,以擴展項目。

[1] https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/society/article/2187505/number-child-abuse-cases-hong-kong-hits-14-year-high

計劃目的

主要內容

「開心成長在每天」自我保護教育活動小組

此活動希望締造一個非暴力和安全的環境,讓 6-17歲的兒童能夠健康成長。參加的兒童透過有趣和互動活動,可以學習到:

  • 在社區的潛在風險
  • 兒童權利和各種暴力行為
  • 好接觸和壞接觸的分別
  • 保護自己的方法
  • 以非暴力溝通方式,表達自己的觀點和感受

「正面管教在每天」家長互助活動小組

此活動希望提倡在日常生活中實踐正面管教,尊重兒童權利和在非暴力環境下解決問題。參加的家長及照顧者會認識到:

  • 兒童的不同發展階段
  • 正面管教和壓力管理的技巧
  • 如何提供家庭溫暖及指導
  • 兒童的需要、想法和感受
  • 透過非暴力溝通,解決問題的方法

香港救助兒童會 x POPA 共同創作的短片:

孩子易失控,父母點疏通?

孩子易失控,想知道身為父母可以怎樣疏通?為什麼他們明知故犯?短片部分內容是根據救助兒童會的保護兒童教育活動——「從心所育」計劃中的內容設計,當中提到的情緒卡「長頸鹿卡」,幫助小朋友和家長學習表達感受及情緒,藉此改善親子之間的溝通與關係。家長可按自己和孩子的需要和喜好,設計專屬協助溝通和表達情緒的工具! 此影片是由香港救助兒童會 x POPA共同創作。

正面管教教育資源

「正面管教在每天」小冊子

這本小冊子提供的正面管教建議,幫助家長照顧自己的同時,也能更了解孩子的需要及感受,讓家長與孩子一起在安全及和諧的環境中健康成長。

點擊這裡 ,了解更多資訊

兒童心聲

就讀小學二年級的小男孩晟𩃀,在 2019 年參加「從心所育計劃」,每週一次到大角咀的陳校長免費補習天地,參加一連十堂的「開心成長在每天」兒童保護教育活動。該活動教導兒童如何表達自己,同時增強他們對社區中各種潛在風險的危機意識。

在其中一節活動,晟𩃀用心思考社區中有潛在危險的地點。他說:「太子道西。因為馬路很闊,來往的人很多,一不留神便很容易與媽媽走失,或被車輛撞倒或遭行人推跌,這樣便會受傷。」

其後,他與其他兒童在活動中共同創作了一幅社區地圖,標示出社區中不同的地方和不同的潛在危機。他續說:「還有,其他地方都要當心,比如公園內或街道旁的公廁和地鐵站等。因為有很多途人,很多陌生人。」之後,導師向兒童解釋,如有需要時應當如何尋求協助。

晟𩃀媽媽希望兒子可以在年幼時多學習如何保護自己。她說:「始終自己不會全天候守在兒子身旁,他漸漸長大了,要懂得應對潛在危機,或者尋求幫助,身為家長自然亦倍感安心。」

家長心聲

與孩子吵架時,最佳的解決方法是甚麼?育有兩名孩子的母親 Ada* 發現,以開放心態與孩子保持溝通,十分有效。

Ada自言是一名情緒化且脾氣暴躁的母親,與女兒發生衝突時,總是一腔怒火。不過,參加「從心所育計劃」的「正面管教在每天」家長互助活動小組後,她不單改善了管教孩子、以及處理自我情緒和壓力的技巧,還學懂透過非暴力溝通來解決問題。

對上一次與女兒發生爭執時,Ada先讓自己平靜下來,嘗試深深吸一口氣,然後耐心地與女兒討論。

這是Ada首次在這種情況下,能夠控制個人情緒,沒有發脾氣。此經驗也大大增強Ada繼續改善與女兒關係的信心。

*化名

協作者心聲

Eric在香港救助兒童會實習期間,有份參與推行「從心所育」計劃的前期準備工作,以及在陳校長免費補習天地帶領兒童小組活動。

Eric表示,在準備過程中,透過研習項目的目的及活動詳情,學習到如何將理解的內容轉化成兒童工作坊的課程大綱,並設計了一本活動小冊子,供兒童在工作坊中參考及運用,讓他們透過互動活動積極參與其中。

他在分享帶領活動的經驗時坦言,「起初要抓緊兒童的注意力及清楚傳達訊息,相當困難,但秉承兒童為中心的原則,我們讓兒童自由表達感受和想法。」而他十分高興活動為兒童帶來的重大變化,如兒童自信尊心提升,以及更主動分享自己的想法。

支持每月捐款

讓救助兒童可以持之以恆

全因每位兒童保護使者的每月捐款,讓我們可以有穩定的收入以制定更長遠和有效的救助兒童項目。

當天災到來時,我們便能第一時間前往災區,即時幫助有需要的兒童,而災後我們也可以持續為兒童提供支援。

感謝各個兒童保護使者的支持,救助兒童的工作才可以持之以恆。

聯絡香港救助兒童會

我們的團體非常樂意為你提供協助

聯絡詳情

捐款及一般查詢: (852) 3160-8686

助養兒童計劃查詢: (852) 3160-8786

 

西環德輔道西410-418號太平洋廣場8

星期一至五:早上9:30至下午6:00

© 2020 香港救助兒童會 | 慈善團體參考編號:91/8943