PRESS RELEASE AND STATEMENT

2020/08/18

SAVE THE CHILDREN HONG KONG ASSISTS VULNERABLE CHILDREN WITH BOOKSTORE VOUCHERS AND HYGIENE PRODUCTS DURING THIRD WAVE OF COVID-19

As Hong Kong battles the third wave of coronavirus and an economic downturn, many underprivileged families are struggling with education- and health-related expenses for children. Save the Children Hong Kong is distributing bookstore vouchers to more than 800 deprived children to help them with their learning during schools closure. The organisation also continued to distribute much-needed anti-epidemic items to vulnerable families, including 16,000 face masks for children and adults, together with 120 thermometres.

“As coronavirus outbreak continues to surge, many low-income families are having financial difficulties. Educational materials often become discretionary expenses, so children miss out on the opportunity to learn. We have to keep learning alive and get children back to school safely during these challenging times,” said Carol Szeto, CEO of Save the Children Hong Kong, as she talked with some underprivileged families to understand their needs, following distribution of donation items at the Community Creativity Learning Centre of the Boys’ & Girls’ Clubs Association of Hong Kong.

Save the Children Hong Kong purchased and distributed bookstore vouchers to vulnerable children with the proceeds from the recent #SaveWithStoriesHK campaign. These children can buy books and other educational materials they need, thanks to the support of generous donors and celebrities who participated in the campaign.

Contact Us

We would love to hear from you.

Contacts

Donation and General Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8686

Child Sponsorship Enquiries:
(852) 3160-8786

 

8/F Pacific Plaza, 410-418 Des Voeux Road West, Sai Wan, Hong Kong

Monday to Friday: 9:30a.m. to 6:00p.m.

© 2019 Save the Children Hong Kong | IR File No: 91/8943

2020年8月18日

第三波疫情持續 香港救助兒童會向弱勢兒童派發書券和防疫物資

在第三波新型冠狀病毒疫情和經濟不景影響下,香港很多基層家庭除了一般日常開銷,還得應付教育和健康相關的開支。為此,香港救助兒童會透過夥伴機構向逾800名基層兒童派發書券,幫助他們在停課期間持續學習,同時繼續向弱勢家庭派發需求殷切的防疫物資,包括16,000 個兒童及成人口罩,以及120個體溫計。

香港救助兒童會總幹事司徒恩日前到小童群益會的社區創意學習中心,向基層家庭及兒童派發捐贈的物資,並與他們傾談,了解其需要。她說:「疫情持續,很多低收入家庭的經濟陷入困境。由於輔助學習的教育資源常常會被視為非必要的開支,以致兒童失去學習的機會。在這個充滿挑戰的時刻,我們必須協助兒童停課不停學,並讓他們安全回到學校上課。」

本會將較早前舉辦的#SaveWithStoriesHK活動所籌得的善款,全數用於捐贈書券予弱勢兒童。獲贈書券的兒童可以自行到書店選擇書本和學習資源,以便更符合其需要。感謝所有支持是次活動捐款者和知名人士。

聯絡香港救助兒童會

我們的團體非常樂意為你提供協助

聯絡詳情

捐款及一般查詢: (852) 3160-8686

助養兒童計劃查詢: (852) 3160-8786

 

西環德輔道西410-418號太平洋廣場8

星期一至五:早上9:30至下午6:00

© 2019 香港救助兒童會 | 慈善團體參考編號:91/8943