Emergencies Updates

Save the Children scales up aid delivery to communities devastated by tsunami-earthquake disaster
Hundreds of desperate families in disaster-affected Sulawesi are receiving life-saving relief from the local partner of aid agency Save the Children, who has distributed a new shipment of hygiene kits, fresh water kits and shelter kits. More than 500 hygiene and shelter kits have been provided to families, with an additional 270 being distributed now, and daily distributions planned over the coming weeks.
The aid agency, which operates through local partner Yayasan Sayangi Tunas Cilik (YSTC) in Indonesia, is also ramping up its vital child protection work by establishing three safe child-friendly spaces in Palu city where children can play and recover while their families receive information on how to access services to rebuild their lives.
Children also receive psychological first aid in the spaces. Many children are struggling to cope with the after-effects of the earthquake and tsunami, having seen their homes destroyed, losing their families, and their sense of normality ripped away.
Save the Children and YSTC have also set up a registration tent where parents and children who have been separated can lodge missing person reports, and from where children can be taken to a safe shelter while the agency searches for their family.
Selina Sumbung, Chairperson of Save the Children’s partner, is at the epicenter of the disaster in Palu city.
“Logistically this is an incredibly challenging humanitarian response, but the aid is getting through and it is making a huge difference. Our team on the ground is working around the clock to meet the enormous needs,” Ms Sumbung said.
“As an Indonesian I have seen a lot of natural disasters, but this is the worst I’ve witnessed in more than a decade. It’s hard to comprehend the devastation here in Palu, and the impact it must be having on children.
“Every building by the beach has been flattened. Boats are lying in the middle of the road. Cars are twisted around walls. People are living under tarpaulins, surrounded by rubble. It’s a horrific situation for children, many of whom are showing signs of distress and trauma.”
Ms Sumbung said she was particularly concerned about the level of homelessness, and the increased risks this posed to children.
“We are hearing more and more stories of people leaving Palu on boats to other parts Sulawesi, such is their desperation to find shelter. Our child protection team has identified numerous cases of children arriving on their own in port cities such as Poso and Makassar, where they are put at major risk of exploitation and abuse.”
Save the Children, through YSTC, has been working alongside the Indonesian government and other aid agencies in the massive recovery operation. YSTC is scaling up operations significantly to ensure that vulnerable children have their needs addressed and are protected from further harm as the recovery continues. Along with distributions, the agency is planning to build temporary latrines for people displaced by the disaster, and will soon deploy health specialists to provide further support to teams on the ground to contain the potential health crisis.
Save the Children has been working in Indonesia since 1976, and has a long history responding to humanitarian disasters in the country, including the recent earthquakes in Lombok and the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami.

Save the Children scales up aid delivery to communities devastated by tsunami-earthquake disaster

 Hundreds of desperate families in disaster-affected Sulawesi are receiving life-saving relief from the local partner of aid agency Save the Children, who has distributed a new shipment of hygiene kits, fresh water kits and shelter kits. More than 500 hygiene and shelter kits have been provided to families, with an additional 270 being distributed now, and daily distributions planned over the coming weeks.

The aid agency, which operates through local partner Yayasan Sayangi Tunas Cilik (YSTC) in Indonesia, is also ramping up its vital child protection work by establishing three safe child-friendly spaces in Palu city where children can play and recover while their families receive information on how to access services to rebuild their lives.

Children also receive psychological first aid in the spaces. Many children are struggling to cope with the after-effects of the earthquake and tsunami, having seen their homes destroyed, losing their families, and their sense of normality ripped away.

Save the Children and YSTC have also set up a registration tent where parents and children who have been separated can lodge missing person reports, and from where children can be taken to a safe shelter while the agency searches for their family.

Selina Sumbung, Chairperson of Save the Children’s partner, is at the epicenter of the disaster in Palu city.

“Logistically this is an incredibly challenging humanitarian response, but the aid is getting through and it is making a huge difference. Our team on the ground is working around the clock to meet the enormous needs,” Ms Sumbung said.

“As an Indonesian I have seen a lot of natural disasters, but this is the worst I’ve witnessed in more than a decade. It’s hard to comprehend the devastation here in Palu, and the impact it must be having on children.

“Every building by the beach has been flattened. Boats are lying in the middle of the road. Cars are twisted around walls. People are living under tarpaulins, surrounded by rubble. It’s a horrific situation for children, many of whom are showing signs of distress and trauma.”

Ms Sumbung said she was particularly concerned about the level of homelessness, and the increased risks this posed to children.

“We are hearing more and more stories of people leaving Palu on boats to other parts Sulawesi, such is their desperation to find shelter. Our child protection team has identified numerous cases of children arriving on their own in port cities such as Poso and Makassar, where they are put at major risk of exploitation and abuse.”

Save the Children, through YSTC, has been working alongside the Indonesian government and other aid agencies in the massive recovery operation. YSTC is scaling up operations significantly to ensure that vulnerable children have their needs addressed and are protected from further harm as the recovery continues. Along with distributions, the agency is planning to build temporary latrines for people displaced by the disaster, and will soon deploy health specialists to provide further support to teams on the ground to contain the potential health crisis.

Save the Children has been working in Indonesia since 1976, and has a long history responding to humanitarian disasters in the country, including the recent earthquakes in Lombok and the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami.

Back

緊急救援進度

救助兒童會加快救援工作     協助印尼海嘯強震災民
救助兒童會在印尼蘇拉威西島的合作夥伴團體,正向數以百計急需救援的受災家庭派發緊急救援物資。本會較早前已經向當地家庭派發超過500份衛生包、淨水包及臨時帳篷等物資,剛再發放 270份,並且已計劃在未來數星期內每日分發救援物資。 
救助兒童會透過印尼的夥伴團體Yayasan Sayangi Tunas Cilik(YSTC)展開救援工作,同時在帕盧設立了三個安全的兒童友善空間,加快重要的兒童保護工作,讓家人在了解如何獲得協助,重建生活之際,孩子們有地方可以玩耍和復元。
許多孩子親眼目睹家園盡毀、失去家人,加上生活失序,現正經歷地震和海嘯的災後遺害,兒童友善空間亦會為他們提供心理支援服務。
此外,救助兒童會和YSTC亦設立了登記處,為失散的父母和孩子進行登記,兒童在尋找家人時,則會被安排到安全的庇護所。
救助兒童會的合作伙伴主席Selina Sumbung 目前在震央的帕盧市,她表示:「雖然從物流角度來說,這次緊急救援工作極具挑戰,然而,救援物資正陸續送抵災區,為當地帶來巨大的改變。我們的團隊正在當地爭分奪秒工作,以應付龐大的需要。」
「我是印尼人,經歷過不少天災,但今次可說是十多年以來最嚴重的一次。這次天災對帕盧所造成的破壞,以及對兒童所帶來的影響,實在難以想像。」
「災區所見,海灘沿岸所有建築物均被夷為平地,船隻被沖上馬路,汽車被卡在牆壁夾縫之間,災民棲身於瓦礫上搭建的臨時帳篷。面對如此可怕的情況,不少兒童已出現沮喪和創傷的跡象。」
Selina Sumbung表示,她特別關注災民無家可歸的情況,以及災區兒童面對的風險不斷增加。
「我們聽聞愈來愈多災民正設法離開帕盧,有災民乘船前往蘇拉威西島其他地方,希望找到棲身之所。我們的保護兒童小組則發現,很多兒童隻身抵達港口城市如波索和望加錫,這些兒童正面對著被剝削和侵害的風險。」
救助兒童會正透過YSTC與印尼政府及其他援助機構合力展開大規模的重建工作。YSTC正致力擴展工作,以確保弱勢兒童的需要得到照顧,並且受到保護。除了向災民派發物資應急,YSTC還計劃為流離失所的災民興建臨時廁所,並即將派出衛生專家於災區提供支援,以減低爆發健康危機的風險。
救助兒童會自1976年起已在印尼工作,多年來一直於當地提供災後人道救援服務,包括最近在龍目島發生的地震,以及在2004年12月26日發生的海嘯。

救助兒童會加快救援工作     協助印尼海嘯強震災民

救助兒童會在印尼蘇拉威西島的合作夥伴團體,正向數以百計急需救援的受災家庭派發緊急救援物資。本會較早前已經向當地家庭派發超過500份衛生包、淨水包及臨時帳篷等物資,剛再發放 270份,並且已計劃在未來數星期內每日分發救援物資。 

救助兒童會透過印尼的夥伴團體Yayasan Sayangi Tunas Cilik(YSTC)展開救援工作,同時在帕盧設立了三個安全的兒童友善空間,加快重要的兒童保護工作,讓家人在了解如何獲得協助,重建生活之際,孩子們有地方可以玩耍和復元。

許多孩子親眼目睹家園盡毀、失去家人,加上生活失序,現正經歷地震和海嘯的災後遺害,兒童友善空間亦會為他們提供心理支援服務。

此外,救助兒童會和YSTC亦設立了登記處,為失散的父母和孩子進行登記,兒童在尋找家人時,則會被安排到安全的庇護所。

救助兒童會的合作伙伴主席Selina Sumbung 目前在震央的帕盧市,她表示:「雖然從物流角度來說,這次緊急救援工作極具挑戰,然而,救援物資正陸續送抵災區,為當地帶來巨大的改變。我們的團隊正在當地爭分奪秒工作,以應付龐大的需要。」

「我是印尼人,經歷過不少天災,但今次可說是十多年以來最嚴重的一次。這次天災對帕盧所造成的破壞,以及對兒童所帶來的影響,實在難以想像。」

「災區所見,海灘沿岸所有建築物均被夷為平地,船隻被沖上馬路,汽車被卡在牆壁夾縫之間,災民棲身於瓦礫上搭建的臨時帳篷。面對如此可怕的情況,不少兒童已出現沮喪和創傷的跡象。」

Selina Sumbung表示,她特別關注災民無家可歸的情況,以及災區兒童面對的風險不斷增加。

「我們聽聞愈來愈多災民正設法離開帕盧,有災民乘船前往蘇拉威西島其他地方,希望找到棲身之所。我們的保護兒童小組則發現,很多兒童隻身抵達港口城市如波索和望加錫,這些兒童正面對著被剝削和侵害的風險。」

救助兒童會正透過YSTC與印尼政府及其他援助機構合力展開大規模的重建工作。YSTC正致力擴展工作,以確保弱勢兒童的需要得到照顧,並且受到保護。除了向災民派發物資應急,YSTC還計劃為流離失所的災民興建臨時廁所,並即將派出衛生專家於災區提供支援,以減低爆發健康危機的風險。

救助兒童會自1976年起已在印尼工作,多年來一直於當地提供災後人道救援服務,包括最近在龍目島發生的地震,以及在2004年12月26日發生的海嘯。

Back